top of page

Review - 2019!

As 2019 started, E-YARD adopted the corporate title RoSPA Advanced Drivers and Riders East Yorkshire. By doing so the group fits in with the national 'branding' which should make E-YARD easier to find for potential members

E-YARD continues to be the groups name due to it being easily identified locally and having built a great, positive reputation in East Yorkshire, Hull and beyond.

Albeit the depths of winter, the social riding and training continued through the winter months, with lots of activity on the Facebook page inspiring ride's out.

Safer Roads Humber held their inaugural 'Biker Down' presentation, dealing with initial scene management and first aid in the event of coming across a road related incident.

RoSPA HQ went on the road in 2019, with one of their 'Roadshows being attended by a 'team' from E-YARD. The York venue attracted RoSPA groups from throughout the North East and offered the opportunity to liaise and exchange ideas with other groups and the HQ team. There was a guest speaker, Louise Goodman of motorsport media fame who gave a great insight into the behind the scenes of Formula 1 and British Touring Cars

As the first month passed by E-YARD, RoSPA's publication had a two page spread on one of the groups Advanced Tutors, with Rosie's riding career being the main feature of the magazine

Another Progressive Driver Development course was held which saw the continuance of this unique E-YARD approach to driver advanced training.

Spring started to arrive brought in on the back of Storm Freya!

E-YARD ran a Tutor Training Course, aimed at experienced, new and potential tutors in both disciplines. The course was designed to create a level standard for all tutors to adhere to

The month saw the commencement of the E-YARD 2019 Coddiwomples, the first ride out being over the wolds and far away! A brilliant turnout covering 200 miles!

Training got into full swing with newly qualified Pippa joining the team and getting stuck into it straight away, alongside the old guard!

E-YARD' AGM took place on the fourth Wednesday of March and saw the committee for the following year sworn in.

John Wright - Chair

Andy Brittan - Treasurer

Chris Hood - Secretary

Jo Bowers - Vice Chair

Denise Rose - Membership Secretary

Julian Taylor - Training Officer

April, and the season really got underway, with E-YARD again being chosen to support local dealership 5-Ways Motorcycle Centre with their Yamaha MT promotion, escorting riders on experience rides of the MT range.

The following weekend was E-YARD's "Big Event", #ridethewolds, designed to coincide with the start of the motorcycling season to promote advanced riding awareness with free assessed rides. Supported by the Wolds Way Cafe owners Mike and Dianne, with use of their premise as a base, along with the main bike dealers in the East Yorkshire area, 5-Ways (Yamaha, Kawasaki, Suzuki) and Miles Kingsport (Honda, Goldwing Specialists), Safer Roads Humber East Riding Road Safety Team and Acklams Coaches.

Other local training bodies were also present to spread the word!

Unseasonally hot weather for the monthly rideout was enjoyed by another good turnout with the team heading to Derbyshire, over some stunning scenery and brilliant roads.

Members of the British Horse Society were the guest speakers for the monthly meeting and a great insight into the mind of a horse was explained!

A very good presentation which helped the group members understand the psyche of horses.

Into May, and E-YARD members enjoyed the i2i Academy basic motorcycle handling skills course. The course was fully booked by members of the group and apart from excellent tuition, provided a great 'team bonding' day.

BikeSafe Humberside got well underway, and E-YARD provided observers throughout the season, at all workshops. The duties were spread between all the group motorcycle tutors, with Pippa and Guy both qualifying as observers for the scheme boosting thier experience and building their portfolios

Social riding continued with Rosie leading the gang over the Howardian Hills and then on to Richmondshire with Icecream and cake being the order of the day!

E-YARD's first engagement of Summer 2019 was the first weekend of June, with E-YARD supporting Ride the Waves, the annual Bridlington Beach Race event.

Saturday saw Carolyne and Julia representing RoSPA and E-YARD, whilst Andy B, Pippa and Jo B did the honours on Sunday